‘Now, Ain’t That Just Like Me?’

Hi,

If you’re keeping up with things, you already know this was meant to be posted on the 2nd, however, I’m still not great at the work/writing balance, so it’s late. Juggling time is at the top of my resolutions list. Actually, I read somewhere that you should say intentions, rather than resolutions, so my number one intention is to carve out more space for writing and blogging.

If you know anything about me, you know that music means the world to me. I could write my life story by simply making a very long playlist. I published a few posts in the past about particular songs and what they meant to me and how they correlated with a particular time or incident in my life. However, revisiting some of those times became a bit too much for me and rather than ‘good therapy’ it became ‘bad dreams’, so I had to take a break from it.

I’ve written posts featuring my ‘top 10’ songs of the year before, and I felt like doing it again for 2016. I searched several places (like my MP3 player, online playlists, etc) to find my ten most listened songs of 2016, and this is the list. Of course, this list has everything to do with what I was going through and feeling, and how the songs directly affected me and my life at the time I was listening to them each on ‘repeat’. But rather than explain my reasons for each song, I’ll leave it up to you to figure out, if you want to. If not, just press play and listen to 10 really great songs. Also, I’ve added lyrics in places that lyrics might be hard to decipher. This tracklist is basically my life in 2016. I hope U enjoy it, or at least get something from it.

Love & Hugs,

~13

 

10.)   Dead Mans Bone – In The Room Where You Sleep

‘I saw something sitting on your bed,
I saw something touching your head,
In the room where you sleep,
In the room where you sleep…’

 

 

 

09.)     Crystal Castles – Femen When I first heard this, I remember feeling a slow, sinking, sad feeling. A few days later, I discovered that it was actually a cover of a song… in reverse. I’ve added the second video of the song played forward, and when you hear what song is actually being covered, you might understand why that sinking, sad feeling happened.

 

 

08.) Santigold – Anne 

‘My name is Anne, I got a plan
I may lack virtue but I’m penitent

To lose my mind, it’s never easy
A shadow, still, there’s weight to me
J-J-Jesus pieces, rescue me
The more I try, the more it gets too complicated
J-J-Jesus pieces, rescue me
The more I give up, the more it takes, the more it takes
J-J-Jesus pieces

My name is Anne, I’ll take a stand
I’ll hold my head up, dig on in
You can bait me for the hell of it
I’ll take it for the hell of it

See it there but it’s too far ahead
Go numb from how bad I want it
See it there but it’s too far ahead
And I hear you calling to me right from here

J-J-Jesus pieces, rescue me
The more I try, the more it gets too complicated
J-J-Jesus pieces, rescue me
The more I give up, the more it takes, the more it takes
J-J-Jesus pieces’

 

 

07.)  Cold Cave – A Little Death To Laugh

‘Somewhere in the Kingdom
Of my memory
A mirage of youth
A stream of infancy…

I give you half the love I need
And no more…’

 

 

06.) Matthew Dear – Around a Fountain

‘You know hurt and what it’s worth
And I don’t need to tell you much
But one thing is clear, you’re living in reverse
Because love is hurt and hurt is hers
You don’t need to hear the truth
Because, darling, truth can’t handle you
You’ve set your course; there’s no reverse
Because love is hurt and hurt is hers’

 

 

05.) David Bowie – Lazarus

‘Look up here, I’m in heaven
I’ve got scars that can’t be seen
I’ve got drama, can’t be stolen
Everybody knows me now…’

 

 

04.)  This Cold Night – Black Rose

‘At death we sit at the bitter table
surrounded by faceless company
and life has lost sweetness
when every eye is full of pity…’

 

 

03.) Beck – Wow

‘Wanna move into a fool’s gold room,
With my pulse on the animal jewels
Of the rules that you choose to use to get loose
With the luminous moves
Bored of these limits, let me get, let me get it like…

Wow!
It’s like right now

 

….Look around, don’t forget where you came from…’

 

 

02.) The Afghan Whigs – Be Sweet

Ladies, let me tell you about myself
I got a dick for a brain
And my brain is gonna sell my ass to you
Now I’m OK, but in time I’ll find I’m stuck
‘Cause she wants love, and I still want to fuck

Now that I’m ashamed, it burns
But the weight is off
Now that you’re out of the way
I turn and I can walk
You showed no sympathy, my love
And this was no place for you and me to walk alone
On my grave, am I OK?
I’m sure I’m not

Ladies let me tell you about my love
She kept giving me more
But it wasn’t enough
So understand
Now that I come to you
To understand my little self
To understand my little self
And baby you be sweet’

 

 

01.) Bellmer Dolls – Every Angel is a Terror

 

‘Lipstick on your pretty face
and smeared across your pretty face
Everyone you used to do
Everything you put us through
You were always taken care of…

Your face, it could replace the past…

Sleep in the ruins you design, you design…

Every Angel is a Terror…’

Thanks for reading & listening.

LaLa Love U  😉

 


Leave a Reply

