The Statue of Libertinism??

I’ve been working on my About page and a few other profiles off and on (mostly on) for the last day or so. What a difficult thing to write! About Me? What in the Hell am I about ? Anyway, I’ve done as well as I think possible for someone like me-who has a hard time with saying too much or not enough sometimes, (usually too much, as you will see). I mean, I suppose I could have taken it less seriously and made it very brief and…bland. I could have said:

Hi, I am a writer-sort of. One day, I may be famous, but then again, probably not, but that’s ok-it’s the quality of  my readers, not the quantity. I have a trunkload of issues and was seriously considering Sufism once upon a time. I like cold, soggy cereal-especially strawberry Shredded Wheat. Email me if you like what you’ve read.

But of course that’s not my style, so in my usual fashion, I’ve baked a nice hodge-podge cake of random facts about ME and now I’m tossing it to you to figure out and perhaps enjoy.

But what to say and what not to say?? I want to be honest enough to discourage the average Joe, who will only be disappointed soon enough anyway- when something strange or offensive creeps out of my head, but I don’t really want to pull in the hard core weirdos either, do I ??? Well, actually maybe the hard core weirdos are welcome here, just as they were in my Magdalena’s Sanctum. Perhaps, I could rework Emma Lazarus’ “The New Colossus” , (mounted on a plaque inside the Statue of Liberty for all of the non-Americans who may not already know this poem) for my beloved Underground:

Instead of:

Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore.
Send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed, to me:

I lift my lamp beside the golden door.

How about:

” Give me your strange, your dejected,
your huddled masses of eccentrics and utterly confused, yearning to  break free from your conformed, fascist world.
The wretched misunderstood, whom you’ve tossed to the dogs,
send these, the peculiar, the mad to me:

I whisper to you from the Underground”

 

OK, Nevermind…

Writing has been a bit lukewarm for the past two days, not just because I was doing such serious soul searching for random ME facts, but also because I’ve had several things that have been piling up on my ‘to do’ list, so I’m trying to clear the list away, or at least make it a bit smaller, and perhaps in a few days, the inspiration will come again. I’ve been craving another spoken word piece too, but again, nothing’s coming..

One of the next things I’d like to mark off of my to do list is the downloads page. Perhaps I could convince D to help me with that one? Never underestimate the power of a lady who brings someone a nice cup of Tension Tamer  tea-maybe that’ll do it, and then the download page will finally be up. I mean what sort of Englishman can resist a nice cup of tea? Then again, I may have to bring in the big dawg– Mr. Earl Grey to help convince him to get the  page sorted.

So, that’s about it, right? We’ve had a nice chat-we’ve covered weirdos and lack of inspiration, and the power of a really nice cup of tea-Now, what else could we do? How about I leave a wonderful song that never grows old? Good, now go have a look at the About page and take a listen to this song.

Peace and sweetness(?)

                                      ~13

P.S. Because I didn’t mention it in my About, let me just mention it here-once and for all: The only reason I use the Tilde (~) before my 13 is because it’s cuter than (-) There’s NO secret meaning and you overestimate my surreptitious symbolism, I’m afraid.

…Schwas are nice too, but that’s neither here nor there, is it?

 

darklucia13@yahoo.com

3 Replies to “The Statue of Libertinism??”

  1. Did someone mention tea? I smelled (smelt?) it from across the ‘net…

    I know You think Kory Clarke’s just some angry shouty guy, but the poem above reminded me of the lyrics to Warrior Soul’s ‘The Losers’:

    “Here’s to the losers
    The substance abusers
    To the rejects
    All the imperfects
    ‘Cause I think we’re beautiful”

Leave a Reply

